Committee on Petitions

The Committee on Petitions is nominated for one year and consists of Seven Members. The functions of this Committee are as under.

(1) The Committee shall examine every petition referred to it, and if the petition complies with these rules, the Committee may direct that it be circulated. Where circulated of the petition has not been directed that the petition be circulated.

(2) Circulation of the petition shall be in extension or in summary form as the Committee or the Speaker, as the case may be, may direct.

(3) It shall also be the duty of the Committee to report to the House on specific complaints made in the petition referred to it after taking such evidence as it deems fit and to suggest remedial measures either in a concrete form applicable to the case under review or to prevent such case in future.

(4) The Committee shall also consider representations, and letters received through any authentic mode of communication from various individuals, associations etc.

Which are not covered under the following clauses and give directions for their disposal:-

(i) a Bill which has been published under Rule 128 or which has been introduced in the House;

(ii) any matter connected with the business pending before the House.

(iii) any matter of general public interest provided that it is not one

(a) which falls within the cognizance of a Court of Law having jurisdiction in any part of India or a Court of Enquiry or a Statutory Body or a Commission.
(b) which should ordinarily be raised in the Parliament or any other State Legislature.
(c) which can be raised on a substantive motions or resolution
(d) for which remedy is available under the law, including rules, regulations, bye-laws made by the Union or state Government or any authority to whom power to make such rules, regulations, etc. is delegated.