Committees appointed by Government

There are a number of departmental Committees appointed by Government to which sometimes Members are nominated either in their ex-officio capacity or in their personal capacity. The difference in the two capacities consists in the mode of payment of travelling allowance payable to Members for attending these meetings. In the former case, on receipt of the information about the attendance of the Members, their travelling allowance Bills are prepared and passed for payment by the Vidhan Sabha Secretariat in accordance with the Haryana Legislative Assembly (Allowances and Pension of Members) Act and rules made thereunder while in the latter case the bills are prepared and passed for payment by the Department concerned, subject to the formality of these Bills being countersigned by the Secretary, Vidhan Sabha.

The Speaker is, according to the present practice, not consulted when a member of Vidhan Sabha is nominated to any of these Committees.