Composition and duration of the Assembly

1. Composition and duration of the Assembly
The Haryana Vidhan Sabha consist of 90 Members elected from 90 Constituencies, 73 General and 17 Reserved, as contained in Schedule II to the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 1976. It is duly constituted upon the issue of a notification under section 73 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951. Unless sooner dissolved, the Assembly continues for the five years from the date appointed for its first meeting and no longer, and the expiration of the said period of five years operates as a dissolution of the Assembly, as required under Article 172 (I) of the Constitution of India