Panel of Chairpersons

The Vidhan Sabha is presided over by the Speaker or in his absence by the Deputy Speaker, or if he is also absent, such Member as may be determined by the Rules of Procedure, or if no such Member is present, such other Member as may be determined by the Vidhan Sabha.

At the commencement of every session, the Speaker nominates from amongst the Members, a Panel of not more than four Chairpersons, any one of whom may preside over the Vidhan Sabha in the absence of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker, when requested to do so by the Speaker, or in his absence, by the Deputy Speaker. The Panel of Chairpersons so nominated, hold office until a new Panel of Chairpersons is nominated.